Superball/bowl.
Superball/bowl.
So ... I tried to understand what this american
football thing is all about. What got me interested in it was an anime
from Japan called Eyeshield 21 where a boy that ran errants for bullies
his whole school life goes into american football as a runner with his
great speed and agility. That get me thinking about looking into that
sport - it looked quite interesting in the anime.
Boy was I
wrong.
So I watched the Superbowl XL - the biggest and most
important event in the american football year. The first half was
absolutely empty - nothing happened at all. The ads were much more
interesting then the game. The halftime show was ok, not as good as
ads.
And the second half just showed why this is the definitive
american sport in the worst meaning of that - legalese. Steelers would
have lost it the judges would have not interfered so much with the game.
This sport has like hundreds of tiny rules that are very dependent on
interpretation by the judges - that is what I call a sport for all the
american lawyers to like. Cancelling several good Seahawks trows just
because some guy was holding someone on the other part of the field,
that must be givin an ecstasy for every law student. Not for me
though.
And even without all that dilation with ridiculous rules
(what's that stupidity with running clock and two minute warning ?!?)
the game itself is kind of dumb - there are just too many people in the
field for anything that a regular person can really understand.
Strategies that almost never work out because of the other team
interfering with their strategy. Too much chaos and still each person
only does a one single thing. Even more - many of the players never will
get any attention in the game just because they are on a supporting
position, but the quarterback will always be the center of attention.
A
very unbalanced game that is even more screwed by a ton of ads, a very
heavy leaning on judging nitpicks and just 3-4 nice moments in the whole
1 hour game. I'll just stick back with hockey and anime :)